Author: Lorenzo Salazar, Federica Gentilini
Committee: Collaborate Committee
Date: 08/12/2023

The oath of the newly appointed European Prosecutors before the Court of Justice of the EU:

 On the 30th of November 2023, the eight newly appointed European Prosecutors took oath before the Court of Justice of the European Union in Luxembourg. The new members of the EPPO College gave the solemn undertaking to comply with the obligations arising from their duties.

The new Prosecutors were recently appointed with the partial renewal of the EPPO College. This partial renewal was concluded on the 28th of September 2023 and it consisted of different steps. One of these steps is carried out by a Selection Panel, of which, the Chair of the Collaborate Committee, Lorenzo Salazar, is part of. (More information can be found at

The solemn undertaking was given by:

  • José António Lopes Ranito (Portugal),
  • Ignacio de Lucas (Spain),
  • Miranda De Meijer (Netherlands),
  • Gedgaudas Norkūnas (Lithuania),
  • Anne Pantazi Lamprou (Cyprus),
  • Nikolaos Paschalis (Greece),
  • Ursula Schmudermayer (Austria),
  • Andrea Venegoni (Italy)

The European Chief Prosecutor Laura Kӧvesi said that “This oath is to act in the interest of the European Union as a whole, regardless of whether we are praised or criticized. It is to defend the independence of the European Public Prosecutor’s Office. We are not representing national interests in an inter-governmental organization”. Indeed, in respect of the principle of the rule of law, only an independent judiciary can enforce the law equally to everybody.

In conclusion, it is fundamental to bear in mind that the European Public Prosecution Office (EPPO) is responsible for investigating, prosecuting and bringing to judgment crimes against the financial interest of the EU.[1]



Collaborate Committee:
Chair: Lorenzo Salazar
Vice-Chair: Federica Gentilini

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x